Wedding Jitters!!!

Wedding jitters…. It wasn’t the bride or groom.. it was me! I have only assisted at one wedding and some great friends of mine asked me if I would come and photograph their special day. They wanted a small ceremony at the Cleveland Botanical Gardens with just their family and a few close friends. A simple ceremony, some pictures throughout the gardens, and a beautiful luncheon after. I said yes without hesitation because I was truly honored that they even asked me to do it! I was extremely nervous though. I am used to photographing kids, babies, families etc. If something were to ever go wrong, I could always redo it. With a wedding it is a one time, one moment, special occasion. What about is something went wrong with my camera? What if one of my lenses wouldn’t work? I started panicking. Then I had to push all of that aside and just went for it. I got there and checked out the beautiful gardens where they would be saying their vows. It was a cloudy day in October, a little chilly but it was too beautiful not to get married outside. I helped the bride get ready and then headed outside to my place. I waited for her father to bring her down the path and photographed the intimate ceremony between them. I then walked through the beautiful gardens with them and took some pictures that I later enlarged and printed on some canvases for them!! My favorite part of photographing anyone, but especially with a couple is to snap a picture of them, and then when they are not looking or paying attention snap again. I love getting the photographs where they are laughing and interacting and truly being who they are. If it were up to me… I would probably hide in the woods and capture pictures that way! I am a little shy and still getting used to telling people how to stand and what to do. I am learning how to handle all situations though and taking a lot from each experience!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

